Laura Borneman Interviewed in Nailed Magazine

Laura Borneman is a member of the MFA in Studio Art Class of 2014. She recently spoke with John Barrios of Nailed Magazine about her latest body of work, which will be featured in her thesis show this coming summer at MICA. Below are a few excerpts from the article. Read the interview in its entirety here.

NAILED: It fascinates me to think of a hybrid of finding a self, which is in constant flow with its own evolution. Like touching the same river twice. Is it possible to go back to yourself, or are we chasing an elusive self in the guise of our art?

BORNEMAN: I think one of the gifts of being an artist is that if your search is honest and relentless, you will constantly renew your ‘self’ through the work and in turn, the work will constantly evolve with you. I feel very lucky that I’ve been able to transform myself many times as an artist and that I’ve never settled or said to myself, “that’s good enough”. I’ve never been satisfied and my curiosity and restlessness have always made me strive for something more. I think the most powerful thing that’s happened since moving to Bakersfield is that I feel as though for the first time in my life, I really know who I am and have a level of confidence in what I am doing and what I am capable of that I never had before. Teaching and the things I’ve learned from my students have given me that.
I’m not sure its possible to “go back to yourself”, but I do think its possible to reinvent ourselves and become more fully who we are and that when that happens, we can’t help but recognize it.

******

NAILED: Can you discuss the end game of the work? It feels part of a larger world, perhaps unrealized or unmade as it stands. What is the ultimate vision, if there is one, and how do you see the evolution of this work moving beyond the miniature? Will it be open to “experience”? Is it possible for it to move from gallery to gallery? Is that even necessary?

BORNEMAN: At this point, I have no idea what the end result of this work might be. It’s very new territory for me. The many facets of the project such as sculpture, installation, video and animation, are all areas that I plan to continue playing with. I am intrigued by the idea of the work moving back and forth between miniature and life-sized, or larger than life-sized, forms in one piece. The dramatic shift in size and scale helps to emphasize the play between reality and imagination and dream-like imagery, or the objective and the subjective. Once the current work is installed, it will be set up so that the viewer can literally enter into part of the piece, where a video will be projected inside a life-size version of one of the miniature houses. Surrounding that and spread throughout the gallery space will be clusters of miniature houses and buildings which the viewer will walk among when looking at the work. There will also be structures hanging from the wall that will engage the viewer in another way. The entire installation is made so that it can be taken apart and put back together, so yes, it can move from gallery to gallery. One possibility is that the work will begin to be more site specific in the future; that would be a welcome and challenging task.

Leave a Reply

